Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

So I started volunteering at the Chester County SPCA to take photographs of their adoptable animals! CCSPCA is where we got Smokey (who was wonderful). They have a gorgeous facility and lots of friendly staff and volunteers on hand to help you with all of your adoption needs. If you’re in the area, go check them out! And if you’re not, consider volunteering at your local shelter. I know everyone says that and trust me, I was one of those people who said things like, “Yeah, I’d like to, but I just don’t have time” or, “I already do so much, having rescues myself” or, “I don’t  want to walk away with half the shelter every time.” But honestly, it was a rewarding experience, and I can’t wait to do more work there. They don’t ask much, and the appreciation you get in return is well worth it.

Here are some of my favorite shots from the day:

Beefy 1

Beefy – a young, male, bulldog mix. Beefy is super, super sweet and wants nothing more than to lavish in your arms. He’s also very food motivated and sits well for a cookie! In his past life, Beefy lived with children and did well with other dogs. He has some skin problems which are being treated and is recovering nicely!

Charlie 2

Charlie is a GORGEOUS love bug! He’s a special needs cat, but you wouldn’t know it from looking at him! Charlie is deaf, but it doesn’t seem to get him down. I loved photographing him (who wouldn’t?) Charlie will need a home who understands his special needs and would do best in a cat-only home.

Carlie 1

Carlie is a young, super high energy, hound/terrier mix. I must have taken 100 photos of her, and it was nearly impossible to pick just three for Petfinder! Carlie is sweet and eager to please, but she’ll need some training. She’s so happy to see you that she has trouble sitting! I have a whole series of photos of her half-sitting in her excitement to get the cookie and the attention! Carlie is looking for a home with children ages 10 and up because she likes to jump, and she can be a little mouthy at times.

Benny 1

Benny is a love (unlike my boy Apollo). He’s also got amazing coloring. He was oh so sweet and didn’t mind being held in the least! He’s a typically curious kitty and was anxious to look out the window and tried to peer down the hall and into the dog room when he heard some of the dogs barking, but he quieted down with a nice, soft touch and we got down to the business of taking some pictures of this rockstar!

Stay tuned for more pictures! And if you’re interested in adopting any of these fabulous animals, please visit: The Chester County SPCA’s website.

