Hi Mom,

I just wanted to drop a line and say hi from up here in Heaven. I know that you miss me, and I miss you too, but I’m okay up here – really! I wish you would stop crying. I try to bark down to you, but I think all your sobbing is covering up my voice. It is a long way to bark, after all. But I’m here, and I’m fine, and I am having the best time of my life.

There is so much to do! I get to nap whenever I want and run whenever I want, and best of all, I get to eat whatever I want whenever I want! There are trees that drop bones off of them, and the steak is exquisite. I eat peanut butter ice cream every night for dessert, and you know what else? I don’t get sick, so I can eat as much as I want, and my tummy never hurts! Sometimes it’s hard to step away from the food to play!

Play! There are so many other dogs up here to play with, I never run out of friends! We swim and jump and tackle each other. There are all kinds of dogs, all breeds, all shapes and sizes and ages. But everyone seems so wise. No one ever bites too hard or hurts anyone. It’s great! It’s like daycare, except way better! And at night, we all go to sleep in one big dog pile on this huge blanket made of the softest stuff you can imagine. It’s almost like the floor is made of toys, they are absolutely everywhere. I have a whole pile just to myself, and no one ever tries to take them away from me, except when we are playing, and then I always get them back.

I just wanted you to know mom, that I had a great life with you, down on earth. The only thing that this place is missing is you and my brother and sister, and grandma and grandpa of course, but I know that I will see you all again someday. Every day, some of the dogs who are up here waiting for their owners, they get picked up. And we all give them lots of kisses and sniffs, and the owners pet us and tell us about how our moms and dads are coming too, if we are just patient and wait. I wag my tail and pant and grin, because I know that you’ll come for me someday, and then we can have all the fun that we want, forever and ever.

But until that day mom, please don’t be sad. It’s great up here, and it was great down there. All in all, I don’t think I could have asked for a better life. Some of the dogs up here, they weren’t as lucky as me, but all the dogs who had good moms and dads are teaching them, and they are like brand new dogs. Maybe when you come to pick me up, we can take a couple of them with us? I’ll pick out a few, and you can let me know when I see you next.

I love you mom. Give my brother and sister a big hug and a kiss for me and tell them that when they get up here, I will teach them everything they need to know about being a Heaven dog. And please tell grandma and grandpa that I love them too, almost as much as I love you! But I have got to run now, I just heard the dinner bell!

 

Love always,

Your dog

